

State Legislature Interference in Elections

No updates required since March 28, 2025

Background

Following the 2020 election, partisan actors sought to undermine the will of the voters and pursue a strategy to overturn election results in several states. Since 2020, some state legislatures have enacted laws that increase the danger of election subversion by giving the legislatures more power to interfere in election administration.

Scoring

- State legislature has enacted law(s) that allow it to seize power over elections, -1 point
- State has no applicable law, 0 points

Summary Table

		Summary Table		
Category	Number	List		
		Alabama		
		Alaska		
		Arizona		
		Arkansas		
		California		
		Colorado		
		Connecticut		
		Delaware		
		D.C.		
		Florida		
		Georgia		
		Hawaii		
		Idaho		
		Illinois		
State has no	38 states &	Indiana		
applicable law	D.C.	Iowa		
		Maine		
		Maryland		
		Massachusetts		
		Michigan		
		Minnesota		
		Mississippi		
		Nebraska		
		Nevada		
		New Hampshire		
		New Jersey		
		New Mexico		
		New York		
		North Dakota		
		Ohio		



		Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Dakota Texas Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming
State has	12 states	Florida
		Georgia
		Kansas
		Kentucky
enacted law(s)		Louisiana
to allow		Missouri
legislature to		Montana
seize power		North Carolina
over elections		Oklahoma
		South Carolina
		Tennessee
		Utah



State-by-State Sources and More Detail

Alabama (0)

State has no applicable law.

Alaska (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Arizona (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Arkansas (0)

• State has no applicable law.

California (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Colorado (0)

State has no applicable law.

Connecticut (0)

State has no applicable law.

Delaware (0)

State has no applicable law.

D.C. (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Florida (-1)

 State enacted <u>SB 90</u> in 2021, which gives the legislature additional power over election related litigation.

Georgia (-1)

• State enacted <u>SB 202</u> in 2021, which: 1) removes the Secretary of State as head of the State Election Board and allows to appoint the replacement; 2) allows the legislature to reject emergency election changes enacted by the State Election Board; and 3) allows the State Elections Board to take power over county election authorities.

Hawaii (0)



Idaho (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Illinois (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Indiana (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Iowa (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Kansas (-1)

State enacted <u>HB 2332</u> in 2021, which: 1) limits the power of state courts and the Secretary of
State to modify elections laws except with approval of the legislature; and 2) removes power
from the Governor to modify elections laws.

Kentucky (-1)

 State enacted <u>SB 1</u> in 2021, which removes power from the Governor and Secretary of State to modify election laws.

Louisiana (-1)

State enacted <u>HB 763</u> in 2024, which prohibits election officials from implementing any
directives or guidance relating to elections without the approval of the legislature. The law also
prohibits election officials from accepting new federal funding for elections without approval of
the legislature.

Maine (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Maryland (0)

State has no applicable law.

Massachusetts (0)

State has no applicable law.

Michigan (0)



Minnesota (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Mississippi (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Missouri (-1)

State enacted <u>HB 1878</u> in 2022, which prohibits state officials from entering into legal
agreements related to election law and requires that legislative leaders to be notified of any
such litigation and be allowed to intervene.

Montana (-1)

• State enacted <u>HB 429</u> in 2021, which removes power from the Governor to modify election laws in cases of emergency and requires approval of the legislature to do so.

Nebraska (0)

State has no applicable law.

Nevada (0)

State has no applicable law.

New Hampshire (0)

• State has no applicable law.

New Jersey (0)

State has no applicable law.

New Mexico (0)

• State has no applicable law.

New York (0)

State has no applicable law.

North Carolina (-1)

• State enacted <u>SB 382</u> in 2024 during the lame duck session, overriding a veto by the outgoing Governor. The law transfers power over the state election board and county boards from the governor to the state auditor.

North Dakota (0)



Ohio (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Oklahoma (-1)

State enacted <u>SB 523</u> in 2022, which prohibits any settlement of election related litigation, and
gives the legislature the right to intervene in any such litigation. The legislation also limits the
emergency powers of the executive and state judicial branch over elections.

Oregon (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Pennsylvania (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Rhode Island (0)

• State has no applicable law.

South Carolina (-1)

• State enacted <u>SB 108</u> in 2022, which gives the legislature power over the state election commission and also allows the legislature to interfere in election related litigation.

South Dakota (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Tennessee (-1)

• State enacted <u>HB 2483</u> in 2022, which allows the legislature to interfere in election related litigation.

Texas (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Utah (-1)

• State enacted <u>HB 300</u> in 2025, which requires legal settlements in the state related to election law to be submitted to the legislature for approval.

Vermont (0)



Virginia (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Washington (0)

• State has no applicable law.

West Virginia (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Wisconsin (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Wyoming (0)